Open Letter to Britain’s (allegedly) next Prime Minister

Dear Mr Milliband (forgive me if I don’t call you Ed)

Having digested the news of the death of Lt Hadar Goldin, killed by terrorists after an apparently mutually agreed ceasefire had yet again been negated by Hamas, I had the pleasure of seeing your comment that David Cameron was “wrong not to have opposed Israel’s incursion into Gaza”.

Well I must congratulate you. With one master stroke you have shored up the Muslim vote, the Jew-haters vote, and all the radical elements in your Party who backed you for the leadership must be Kvelling (as you probably didn’t learn Yiddish at your bubbe’s knee, that translates as “very pleased”).  Likewise the shades of Clement Attlee and Ernie Bevin will be delighted that you have rescued your Party from any warm feelings for Israel that were evident in Harold Wilson, Tony Blair and Gordon Brown.

Oh sorry, I forgot. You are a supporter of Israel.  Or should I say a supporter of Israel but…..

Now I realise that you are a busy man, very concerned about your image and finding clever things to say at Question Time on Wednesdays. Perhaps you only had a few fleeting moments to look at the awful and horrible pictures of dead children in Gaza – which give no pleasure to anyone in Israel, take my word – to understand just what the incursion was all about.

Could I take a few moments of your time to point out a few salient facts:

  • In the past three weeks 3,127 rockets have fallen on Israel, every one intended to cause maximum damage and death. They are still falling as I write this letter but the majority of rocket launchers and much of Hamas’s deadly stock seems to have been put out of commission. This could not have happened without a land invasion.
  • The IDF have destroyed over thirty tunnels, each built with the cement and materials intended for schools, hospitals and clinics. These could not have been removed without a land invasion.
  • Egypt proposed a ceasefire prior to a single Israeli soldier entering Gaza. Israel accepted it – Hamas turned it down.  Previously Israel had offered “quiet for quiet” – Hamas sent more rockets.
  • There is evidence galore – even on Al Jazeera America – that rocket launching sites have been placed in the heart of the community – near or in hospitals, schools, clinics, mosques and sometimes in private homes.  It has taken time and immense courage to deal with these.
  • And finally, why don’t you do Hamas the decency and believe what they say?  Their Charter makes it quite clear that they see no place for Israel anywhere. To them Tel Aviv is as much a settlement as Ariel. (They aren’t too keen on Jews generally either – are you still feeling comfortable?)

So I must ask you – as our so called supporter – what would you have us do?  Sit in our shelters indefinitely while the rockets pour down?  Wait in horror in case the trapdoor in the kindergarten or the kibbutz dining room opens up to a horde of unwelcome visitors, keen and eager to capture and kill?   Perhaps you haven’t been briefed about Hamas’s planned New Year gift to Israel -the entry of 2,000 terrorists in every kibbutz and village on the Gaza periphery and a consequential massacre that would have made 9/11 seem like a picnic.

I agree that Israel has committed a terrible error. Yet again we have forfeited the good will of the world. But faced with the alternative of either being everyone’s pal or surviving, I know where I stand.

So if that is the level of your support Mr Prime Minister designate I suggest you shove it in your ballot box.

Unadmiringly yours

Alan Gold

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Open Letter to Britain’s (allegedly) next Prime Minister

  1. Could not have put it better
    When I read the front of UK papers I wanted to vomit
    Kol Ha Kovod
    Grand Ma would have been proud of little skinny Alan!
    Xxx

  2. Well put, Alan. We here in the UK have to live with all this stuff –
    I dread opening the papers or listening to the news. The bias, propaganda and lies are dreadful.
    Regards,
    Marlene Knepler

  3. I am a lifelong supporter of the British Labour party
    However after reading the comments by the current leader Mr Milliband under no circumstances will I ever vote for the labour party as long as he is the leader

  4. Dear ed. thanks for speaking at the CST dinner this year. Guess I just wanted a free meal. Mind you what do u actually expect from someone who has forgotten where he came from and who screwed his own brother. Who woukd have been a much better potential prime minister. You are a disgrace

  5. Sent this to ed milibands email address earlier, let’s see if I get a response….

    Edward,
    I have thought for a while now that you were a moron , after listening to you speak unarticulated dribble for last 4 years, but now I know you are not just a moron but a embarrassing misinformed disrespectful moron .. Once again you have not gathered all the relevant facts before making a “well” informed speech about your beliefs and views. I would go Into detail about the facts you have seemed to have overlooked about israel and gaza, Judaism and the growing anti-Semitic undercurrent across the world, especially in Europe…but I do not want to waste my valuable time . In addition Rather than highlight the innocent ethnic cleansing of Christians in Syria by Isis you have to make the most outrageous disgusting comments about your support for Palestinians and Hamas. You should be ashamed of yourself. Good luck to coming last in the 2015 election. You truly are a moron. Regards Jason Cohen (an upstanding British Jewish citizen with a conscience and a spine).

    Sent from my iPhone

  6. Regarding the bacon sandwich he was seen eating and shown in the press, he should have stuck it up his toochas because that is much cleaner than his mouth.

  7. Ӊmm it appears like yoսr Ьlog ate my irst comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll jսst suum it up wha I submitted and
    say, I’m thorоughly enjoying youʝr blog.
    I too amm an aspiring blog writer but I’m still neew to
    the whole thіng. Do yoou have any points fօr rοokie blog ԝгiters?
    I’d cerdtainly apρreciate it.

Leave a comment